The Ohio Section
American Physical Society


The Howard Maxwell Award for Distinguished Service to the Ohio Section of the American Physical Society is presented to those members of the Section who have rendered outstanding service to the Section. It is named in honor of Howard Maxwell of Ohio Wesleyan University who rendered nearly two decades of such service. Past recipients of this award have been:

Howard Maxwell
Thomas Dillman
John Eichelberger
Leonard Jossem
Wave Shaffer
Samuel Wheeler
Charles Randall
Cy Rutledge
Charles Wilson
Paul Hagelberg
Mike Mickelson
Ron Tabak
Bunny Clark
Gordon Aubrecht


The William Fowler Award for Distinguished Research in Physics is to honor those members of the Society with appreciable connections to the State of Ohio at some time in their life, who have done outstanding research in physics. It is named in honor of William Fowler who won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1983 for his work on stellar nucleosynthesis. Past recipients of this award have been:

William Fowler
Leslie Foldy
Clifford Heer
K. Narahari Rao
Bunny Clark
Donald Reynolds
Ron Winters
Phil Taylor
Arthur Epstein
Gary Steigman

Use the Awards Nomination Form to make a nomination for an OSAPS Award.

Return to OSAPS home page.
Please send comments or corrections to:
Roger Rollins at

Last updated 9 September 2004.